“Ka’ Feer” (Kefir) and Other Things

Standard

I will start by saying that I was seriously mispronouncing this word when I first read it!  I was encouraged to start making kefir due to the nutritional value of it.  Thanks to my friend Sarah, I was able to get the grains and start using it in my raw milk (it is so simple to make). I will say that it makes plain yogurt taste sweet in comparison!  I have not yet had a drink of it straight, but I have mixed some of my homemade cereal in it AND (my husband and I both think this is completely wonderful)–a FRUIT SMOOTHIE!

It has been a week now, but we now have a deep freezer stocked with about 6 months worth of grass-fed, steroid/antibiotic free beef from a local farmer. It does not taste “farmy” as I have been asked–it has so much more GOOD flavor!  We hope to stock up on Pork and Chicken come the spring from local farmers.

Yes, it is my birthday and this morning, I was eating my kefir and cereal when Jeremy brought me my present…A CHEESE PRESS!  He said that I wrote on my blog I would love someone forever if they got me one, “I figured I needed to get it for you fast so you would love me forever!”.  Yes, my husband is thoughtful like that 🙂  Now…onto spending more hours trying to figure out what I need and how to do it.  Any tips and suggestions from cheese makers would be welcome!

Cheese Press

About nuttyonnutrition

I am a wife and mother who has recently become aware of how important nutrition is...yes, this seems silly, but it REALLY just hit me! As my daughter started to eat solid food, I became sensitive to the "junk" that was out there. Ever so slowly, I discovered more and more about a more nutritious diet. Such as: Fruits and veggies are great...as long as they are organic and not plastered with pesticides (which can cause cancer and a load of other problems)--the same with meats injected with antibiotics and steroids...and diets that were never healthy while the animal was alive. So much information, so I am starting a blog to document my journey on further discovery... *Baking/cooking endeavors *New diet purchases *Possible Gardening *New nutrition Discoveries Hopefully, I can keep up because right now, I feel extremely overwhelmed with the change of living...diet and prioritizing our income (if we can do it, I assure you that YOU can do it too...believe me)! :)

5 responses »

  1. Haha, sounds like Jeremy! What a sweetie. Keep us updated on your cheese-making adventures! I’m content to buy raw milk cheese right now, but it would be nice to know for sure that it’s only been heated the the right temp my making my own.

Leave a Reply

