GAPS?

Standard

I just finished reading “Gut and Psychology Syndrome” by Dr. Natasha Campbell-McBride.  Wow.  Though I do not agree with everything she has to say, there is so much helpful information…even shedding light on lies the government and food  industry have been telling us for the last century.  Before you write me off as a quack (which I know is how I am sounding), read the book.  Take it or leave it, it has amazing information.  Her main focus is sharing how eating the proper foods can greatly improve the health of people with autism, schizophrenia, dyslexia, depression, etc.   It is EXTREME, but she has seen thousands improve under her care (including her son).  I believe there is a lot of wisdom to be gleaned and though I am not going straight on her diet, I will be following principles from it.  I can only ask that you read it…if you think you are going through a boring part (which could possibly be all of it for you), just read it anyway 😉  I would much rather be informed on how to keep myself and my family healthy than to eat however I want and deal with the consequences later.  God is ultimately in control, but He does expect us to be responsible.  I think what really hit me was having to be responsible for another human being (my daughter).  It has made me interested in researching–whereas before, I would not have given it a second thought, really.  Speaking of my baby, she even mentioned a part where a colicky baby could have to do with the mother’s diet…especially if she consumes dairy products.  I had the page book marked to do a direct quote, but it was taken out by a rascal earlier, so I need to find it.

Funny story before I end this (it wasn’t funny at the time and maybe you had to be there), but I took Dr. Campbell McBride’s advice and put my probiotic powder on my tongue–with the intention of going right to sleep and letting it kill bacteria gathered in my Eustatian Tube, but as soon as it hit my tongue, I started gagging and ran to the kitchen to drink copious amounts of water.  I don’t think I can do it again…definitely not for the faint of heart.

About nuttyonnutrition

I am a wife and mother who has recently become aware of how important nutrition is...yes, this seems silly, but it REALLY just hit me! As my daughter started to eat solid food, I became sensitive to the "junk" that was out there. Ever so slowly, I discovered more and more about a more nutritious diet. Such as: Fruits and veggies are great...as long as they are organic and not plastered with pesticides (which can cause cancer and a load of other problems)--the same with meats injected with antibiotics and steroids...and diets that were never healthy while the animal was alive. So much information, so I am starting a blog to document my journey on further discovery... *Baking/cooking endeavors *New diet purchases *Possible Gardening *New nutrition Discoveries Hopefully, I can keep up because right now, I feel extremely overwhelmed with the change of living...diet and prioritizing our income (if we can do it, I assure you that YOU can do it too...believe me)! :)

Leave a Reply

