As I Stand Washing Dishes…

Standard

So I was just at my sink washing up some dishes…where I always use that time to think and/or pray to the Lord.  I’ve realized the last couple of days how enthusiastic I have been over this whole “changing the way we eat” deal. I have probably come across extremely strong to some friends and family.  I do not mean to tell them they are “sinning” by not eating the way we are choosing, but I feel like their health is at stake by not eating properly and I do not want to see them end up with health problems in the future. WHY is it that I have been so vocal and forward about physical health?  How many times have I just opened my mouth and shared about what is really important in this life:  the NEED to realize that you are a sinner in need of the blood of Christ to cover your sins so that you can stand before your Creator and have a relationship with Him?  It is a little disconcerting knowing that some friends and family will think I am a little “nutty” or even pious by trying to eat healthy.  This should not bother me because I believe it is the right thing to do. Just as I should be open about the love and salvation of my Savior–regardless of how people may treat me or think I am “crazy” because of it.  I read through Romans 8 today and was encouraged by what Paul wrote towards the end of the chapter–well, the whole chapter, but I am just typing the last part!

“What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare his own Son but gave him for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things? Who shall bring any charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies. Who is to condemn? Christ Jesus is the one who died–more than that, who was raised–who is at the right hand of God, who indeed is interceding for us. Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or danger, or sword? As it is written,

‘For Your sake we are being killed all the day long; we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered.’

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord (vv31-39).”

I need to remember to keep my priorities straight. Just like with eating healthy, I am not benefitting from telling people about how they can eat healthy…I am not “selling” something to them…just telling them what I know and have experienced.  Sometimes, I feel that people will think I am “selling” something when I am trying to share the love of Christ with them.  There is no selling; no strings attached. You can never be and will never be good enough to get to Heaven, God is not asking you to give money to the church because that won’t get you to heaven either.  He is asking you to recognize that you have sinned against Him and are desperately in need of the salvation His Son offers you through His shed blood sacrifice on your behalf.

My Savior allowed Himself to die and rise again to show His power of death because He loves you and wants you to come to Him in repentance–realizing there is no other way to live physically or spiritually without Him–no strings EVER attached!

I have not read every single article from this particular website, but I appreciated the link they have up here.

About nuttyonnutrition

I am a wife and mother who has recently become aware of how important nutrition is...yes, this seems silly, but it REALLY just hit me! As my daughter started to eat solid food, I became sensitive to the "junk" that was out there. Ever so slowly, I discovered more and more about a more nutritious diet. Such as: Fruits and veggies are great...as long as they are organic and not plastered with pesticides (which can cause cancer and a load of other problems)--the same with meats injected with antibiotics and steroids...and diets that were never healthy while the animal was alive. So much information, so I am starting a blog to document my journey on further discovery... *Baking/cooking endeavors *New diet purchases *Possible Gardening *New nutrition Discoveries Hopefully, I can keep up because right now, I feel extremely overwhelmed with the change of living...diet and prioritizing our income (if we can do it, I assure you that YOU can do it too...believe me)! :)

Leave a Reply

